International Scholar Award

The International Scholar Award is an award that the Academy developed to honor international members and their lifelong commitment to learning. This award is a two-year program.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Active international member of the Academy
  • Past recipient of the International Ophthalmologist Education Award
  • Earn 30 continuing medical education (CME) credits each year for two consecutive years from the time of application (for a total of 60 CMEs).
  • Half of the 30 credits for each year must be earned from Academy-sponsored CME activities.
  • Successfully complete a timed, online self-assessment test with an 80% or higher passing score.

Award recipients get the following:

  • A personalized certificate
  • Acknowledgement on the Academy’s website
  • Acknowledgement in the Academy’s Annual Awards booklet
  • An annual meeting ribbon